Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Seasons & Mini's versus the On-going...

From a series of Posts I made at ifanboy.com.... 

"I can understand the corporate mentality of an on-going….and with the titles like Batman, Spiderman, etc., it makes sense. I would think that with great selling titles or titles with one author for several years (Green Lantern for example), it would make sense to keep an on-going numbering. However, with lesser selling titles/characters…..”Seasons” or “Mini’s” may be the way to go.

Friday, August 31, 2012

Elephantmen: Armed Forces (Review)

Armed Forces is a collection that includes the sold out graphic novel  War Toys (see: Book of the Month), War Toys: Yvette, & a couple of issues from the ongoing monthly, Elephantmen.  Richard Starkings continues the writing on this masterpiece of Pulp Science Fiction, while artwork is done by some of the greatest artists in the industry today....Moritat, Boo Cook, Ladronn, & Axel Medellin.

While I must admit that Saga has taken over as the #1 comic book in my heart, Elephantmen takes a backseat to nothing else being published today.  Completely original, entertaining, with some of the best storytelling and artwork available....it's in a word: Awesome!

The Hardcover editions are breathtakingly gorgeous, with attached ribbon bookmarker, great binding....a very "real book" look and feel.

This volume is a prequel to the other Elephantmen volumes, showing the history and background on our main characters, the war fought in Europe between Central Africa & China, & the European resistance led by it's symbolic leader, Yvette. She is really the star of this volume, as she matures from naive little sister to unstoppable Force of Nature!

Saga #5 (Review)

To say that this title so far has been awesome would be an understatement.....Brian K. Vaughan (Writer) & Fiona Staples (Artist) have easily created the best series of 2012.  Saga & The Walking Dead are the only non-"Big 2" (DC & Marvel) titles in the Top 50 (in Sales) for the last 6 months.  Saga has been doing great in sales, with several reorders for each of the first 5 issues.  This is a title still gaining new readers every month, and boasts an impressive female reading audience as well (something most comic book titles struggle to find).

The covers for every issue have been wonderful, boasting a character from the Saga Universe, this issue having Prince Robot IV gracing it's cover.  He seems to have father issues, a bad temper, and maybe some problems in the bedroom as well.....but things are looking up, as he receives good news in this issue.

Issue 4 ended with Marko, Alana, & Hazel face-to-face with Landfall soldiers looking to "pacify" them, The Will trying to escape Sextillion with a little girl he's saved from slavery, & The Stalk still lurking about......on to the review.....

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

The Flash #10, #11, & #12 (Review)

Well, the "New 52" Flash is officially a year old!  Sales have been solid, Francis Manapul & Brian Buccellato have proven they can write as well as do fabulous arwork, & this has consistently been my favorite DC Comics title.  "The Man" & "Booch" have introduced us to the re-imagined Rogues, Gem Cities, & Barry Allen with art that borders on masterpiece.....I cannot state enthusiastically enough how wonderfully awesome the artwork is from the first to last page in every issue done by these two creators.

The Flash is one of the most visually-influenced characters in comic books.  What I mean is, the story almost always hinges on the visual....rather than the visual on the story (i.e. Batman, Green Lantern, etc.).  DC Comics made the right decision in giving this title to Manapul & Buccellato, two artists who were new to writing.  They have progressed exponentially as writers over their first 12 issues together, all the while providing the breathtaking artwork that is needed on a title like The Flash!

Looking back over the years at wonderful artwork on The Flash.....from the talented hands of Harold Porter, Ethan Van Sciver, Scott Kolins, & Andy Kubert (off the top of my head).....it is Francis Manapul's Flash that I always see now when I think of The Flash!  He has made The Flash "Iconic" again in my eyes....Thank You Mr. Manapul!!!

On to the reviews.....

Monday, August 27, 2012

Red Lanterns #11 & #12 (Review)

It is only beginning!!!!

The Red Lanterns are having issues.....split into two factions, separated in two directions, dying one-by-one from whatever and whomever has poisoned the Red Lanterns' Power Battery on their home planet Ysmault.....things are not looking good.

So, it's almost been a year for the Red Lanterns title.....a year of RAGE!!  Sales show them around the middle of the pack for DC titles, and last among the 4 Green Lantern Titles.....but at around 36k, sales are solid for this title, and it should continue for at least another year or two.  Peter Milligan is going strong, with no announced plans of going anywhere...and artist Miguel Sepulveda is showing his worth just a few issues in.  On to the reviews.....

Reed Gunther: The Bear-Riding Cowboy (Review)

I've collected comic books over a couple of decades, and Reed Gunther is one of the best "all ages" comic books that I've ever read.   Entertaining, fun, comical at times....with a decent story plot and good writing & artwork. Reed, Sterling (his best friend, and also a bear), & Starla have "wild west" fun fighting monsters, giant snakes, and an "evil" businessman....which all leads them to New York City! Every Chapter leaves a smile on your face and chuckling under your breath as you shout "Pickled Beets!"

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Godzilla Legends (Review)

This 5-issue mini-series explored some of Toho's other monsters that regularly make appearances in Godzilla movies and comics.  Each issue/chapter of this Graphic Novel explores one of the monsters pictured on the cover.

Various writers & artists collaborated on this project; most notably Matt Frank, who drew the cover for the collection and all of issue 1.  Simon Gane; the current artist on the on-going Godzilla series from IDW, is among the artists as well.

The Godzilla/Toho universe is a rather simple one......Giant Monsters, Alien races, and Humans trying to determine the friendliness of the aliens and avoid/defeat the Monsters.  Godzilla is the Alpha-Monster, who regularly saves mankind while also crushing them underfoot.

I am rather new to Godzilla; having watched several of the movies as a child.....and am currently catching up on several Godzilla films made after 1998.  IDW has done an outstanding job staying "true" to the franchise's history and direction (unlike previous incarnations of Godzilla at Marvel & Dark Horse).....much like they've done with G.I. Joe, Transformers, Doctor Who, Star Trek, & Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

On to the Review.....

Friday, August 3, 2012

Dinosaurs vs. Aliens (Review)

Now this is an interesting concept.....which is definitely doubling as movie pitch for Barry Sonnenfeld (who is the director famous for the "Men in Black" film franchise).  Written by the Iconic Grant Morrison, with artwork done by Mukesh Singh & Liquid Studios.  The Graphic Novel is published by Dynamite Entertainment.

Just when I had given up hope that Grant Morrison could write a simplistic, straightforward, awesomely wonderful comic book like he did "back in the day" (I am referring to his JLA writing)....he writes this great piece of work!  So simple it's daring....so simple it's complex and mind-blowing!  Bravo, Grant Morrison, bravo!

I will be at my local cinema at 10am waiting in the Dinosaurs vs. Aliens line........I may have to leave occasionally (for work and showers), but I will be there on opening day!!!  On to the review...

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Saga #4 (Review)

This series by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples continues to impress me with mind-blowing writing & art.  The universe of Saga continues to be as unique & complex as it is simplistic & beautiful.

The covers so far have been great as well!  Each one is really like a poster featuring one (or two) of the main characters.  #4's cover features The Will & Lying Cat.  The Will appears to be smoking.....something?.....we'll pretend that it's a self-rolled cigarette.

It's been announced that the series will take a couple of months off after issue #6, while they catch up &  see how the release of the first collection in graphic novel format sells.....before they continue on.  I understand this, and want them to be rested/caught up/etc......but I hope it doesn't steal away any momentum from this wonderfully awesome series that is really turning heads and gaining new readers!!

On to the review......

Friday, July 13, 2012

The Flash #9 (Review)

This title is by far; in my opinion, the best of the "New 52".  The artwork is always stellar, and you can see in this panel to our left that Francis Manapul and Brian Buccellato prove the truth of the phrase, "A picture is worth a thousand words".  Every page and every panel is like this, and then when Manapul's & Booch's scripts add more life  to the pictures.....the artwork and words come alive in your mind to form the symphonic masterpiece that is The Flash.....

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

The Flash #8 (Review)

As I wait for the temperature to drop below triple-digit heat indexes so I can drive my NON-air-conditioned truck over to Capital City Comics (in Reynoldsburg, OH) to pick up The Flash #10.....I thought I'd review #8.

When we last left The Flash, he had just "flashed" away from the treadmill in Dr. Elias' facilities and into the Speedforce in an effort to find Iris and the others from the boat who disappeared during his battle with Captain Cold. Issue #8 begins......

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Red Lanterns #9 & #10 (Review)

Motto of the Red Lanterns!
I have to admit, the RED LANTERNS title is my guilty pleasure (BaBUM)....I've tried to drop it from my pull list (BaBUM), even tried passing by it and ignoring it in my local comic book shop (the great Capital City Comics in Reynoldsburg, Ohio...BaBUM)....even purposely didn't go to the store on the weeks that it's released just so maybe it would sell out and I'd miss it (BaBUM), tried to convince myself that I didn't want it anymore because Ed Benes left as artist (BaBUM).....but alas, no matter how much I've tried, I MUST HAVE RED LANTERNS!! (BaBUM BaBUM BaBUM!!)

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Planetoid #1 (Review)

From the outset of this issue, you find that the plot is simple: Man crashes into strange planet. The Story is simple: Man attempting to survive on said planet. The artwork is great, the grays and blacks contrasting nicely with our main character. It's a strange and original world with mechanical beasts and lizard-like creatures that chew and digest metal. This first issue contained a good introduction to the Planetoid "universe", had well-placed action panels, and a good ending to lead into issue #2.....

The Massive #1 (Review)

Brian Wood writes this apocalyptic journey about the crew of the Kapital as it searches for it's "sister ship", The Massive.

In a bleak future (not very distant from now!) the crew of the Kapital is near the Kamchatka peninsula (off the coast of Russia), following a "ghost" signal on their radar that they believe may be The Massive. The small crew is being aggressively followed by "hostiles".  The Kapital and The Massive are the two boats of The Ninth Wave, Marine Conservationist Direct Action Force.  Kapital is Captained by Callum Israel, who is also the leader of The Ninth Wave.

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Godzilla #1 & #2 (Review)

The "wrap-around" cover for Godzilla #1

As "Godzilla Week" KREEEEAUNG's (Godzilla's roar spelled phonetically) to a close, we take a look at issues #1 & #2 of the new monthly on-going series; Godzilla, from IDW Publishing. Written by veteran writer Duane Swierczynski, with artist Simon Gane and colorist Ronda Pattison.....

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Godzilla: Kingdom of Monsters (Review)

Cover of Volume 1
Cover of Volume 2
Continuing "Godzilla Week" brings us to Godzilla: Kingdom of Monsters, a three volume (twelve issue)  story arc that stars President Ogden (who looks a lot like President Obama), Sergeant Steven Woods, a girl named Allie, psychotic & telepathic twins, Godzilla, & most of his Monster "friends".

Cover of Volume 3
The story begins with Godzilla rising up from the depths of the ocean off the coast of Japan.  After destroying a fishing village, the Japanese Government makes the decision to nuke the beast!!
MISTAKE!!  Godzilla can now breath fire (or something to that effect) as a result of the failed attempt to destroy him.  Godzilla takes out his bad breath frustrations on Tokyo's helpless population.

Meanwhile, all across the world in various nations and on various continents.....other monsters are awaking as well!! Anguirus, Battra, Kumonga, and Rodan begin paths of destruction, heading toward one another.

The twins; Mallorie & Minette, decide they want to be Queens.....so they use their considerable telepathic powers to influence and control Battra.  They make their way to Paris.....where Battra cocoons on the Eiffel Tower.

Anguirus decides to leave Mexico and travel across the U.S. border illegally! Rodan eats a juvenile hockey player in Moscow, Russia, and Kumonga takes to the road just outside Pasadena, California.

President Ogden and the U.S. Government begin to panic as Godzilla makes his way across the Pacific and onto our shores.......

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Godzilla: Gangsters & Goliaths (Review)

I've decided that it's "Godzilla Week" at Superhero Reviews!! Although Godzilla: Gansters & Goliaths may not contain the most deeply intricate story plots....and the main characters don't speak, they simply roar or "skreeonk"....how can you not love the random and all-encompassing chaos and destruction?

Written by John Layman, with artwork by Alberto Ponticelli....G:G&G revolves around Tokyo Police Detective Makoto Sato, who tries to end the corruption and violence of mob boss Takahashi.  Takahashi murders his partner and frames him for it, has his cronies take Sato out to sea to murder him and dispose of the body......they end up just off the coast of Monster Island.

Sato makes a bold move and escapes death momentarily, only to find himself washed up onshore Monster Island with the mob guns right behind him.

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Saga #3 (Review)

So, we find Marko, Alana, & Hazel still in the Endless Woods (it is "endless", you know).....Marko bleeding to death from The Stalk's attack last issue, and the "horrors" having appeared.

We quickly learn that the "horrors" aren't exactly that, but rather are ghosts...."spiritual defenders of Cleave".  Marko regains consciousness momentarily and lets Alana know that he would need snow for a healing spell.....of course it's sweltering, and they are nowhere near snow.  One of the Ghosts; Izabel (see: cover on left), offers to help....for a price.  She wants off Cleave, but can only achieve escape if she's bonded with someone born on Cleave.  Alana is wary about allowing a ghost to bond to her daughter, but she does need snow for Marko.

The Stalk is still about, but is too busy fending off the indigenous wildlife to keep pursuing Marko, Alana, & Hazel.  She calls The Will, and we learn that the two have had a "past".   Prince Robot IV is planetside as well....

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Higher Earth #1 (Review)

The new series from Boom! Studios, written by Sam Humphries, with artwork by Francesco Biagini.  Let me say from the start that I was drawn to this new on-going series NOT because of the writer or artist or publisher.....but because of the story concept.

The art is decent; by the way, with great colors by Andrew Crossley.  Biagini's art comes from different angles, and the fight sequences are good.  Sam Humphries' writing is good, carrying with it a great concept of awesome potential.  The former writer of Planet of The Apes, and soon to be Marvel Comics writer, Humphries shows his muster with a good first issue introducing us to Rex & Heidi; the two main characters, and Rex's bird (?).  The only place the writing fell short to me was that there was almost no revelation as to who the "enemy" is.....of course, I'm sure it will be revealed as the story progresses.

The first issue was only $1.00.....you can't beat that!!

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Saga #2 (Review)

When you first look upon the cover of Saga: Chapter Two (or, #2), you think "What the Frak?"....weird hand and baby hands? But do not be fooled!  This is an awesome comic book through and through.

Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples deliver the next chapter of this on-going series, which is quickly becoming the hottest property in the comic book industry.  The only criticism I have of #2 is that it goes by so fast!  

When we last left Marko & Alana, they were fleeing the forces chasing them, and hoping to find the mythical "Rocketship Forest"....
Now they find themselves in the "Endless Woods".

Meanwhile, The Will is tracking them and learns that another is as well...The Stalk.  The Will contemplates giving up on the quest, and we will soon find out why....

Thursday, April 26, 2012

A Tribute to O.M.A.C. (featuring the artwork of Keith Giffen)

A tribute to O.M.A.C. and the series' wonderful artist Keith Giffen.....

O.M.A.C. #8 (Review)

Omit, Mutilate, And Cancel.....the title of issue #8, the end of the O.M.A.C. series.....which I suppose is fitting, considering Jack Kirby's original series lasted only 8 issues as well.  It makes you wonder if it was planned that way?  Considering O.M.A.C.'s writer; Dan DiDio, most assuredly knew the orginal series only lasted 8 issues at the beginning of this venture....I find it very likely that it was planned, and smile at myself that it didn't occur to me sooner.

Issue #8 is a narrative given to us by Kevin Kho....his "last will and testament"....as things are seemingly going badly for Kho and Brother Eye.  Eye is in a strategic battle to the death with Maxwell Lord (head of the secret government organization, Checkmate), as O.M.A.C. wreaks havoc on Eye's behalf......  

Keith Giffen's artwork is top-notch, and I'm personally glad that he stayed on till the end of this series. Giffen's art paid homage to the Kirby's style, and really made this title AWESOME!

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Red Lanterns #8 (Review)

"I will...destroy the aberration.  Rip out his heart and feed it to Dex-Star..."  --Atrocitus (speaking of Abysmus)

Writer Peter Milligan is joined by new artists Andres Guinaldo & Jorge Jimenez in issue #8.  A good story arc building as the Red Lanterns face their first major threat from without the Corps.

So....Atrocitus is stabbed through the chest, Rankorr is thinking but still confused, Bleez is leading her own faction, Abysmus and the other aberrations are seeking to destroy the Red Lanterns.....that's where we left off in Red Lanterns #7 (See: RL's #7 Review for further details).  This issue begins with Abysmus on his way to the Central Power Battery to "pollute" it with his own flesh.....

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Green Arrow: Into the Woods & GA: Salvation (Review)

Green Arrow: Into the Woods & Green Arrow: Salvation.  These two volumes, which included all 15 issues of the new Green Arrow series; previous to the new...new Green Arrow series (New 52), were tie-ins to the Brightest Day mega-event that permeated the DC Universe.

Green Arrow has had great trials as of late.....the destruction of most of Star City (causing the death of his Grandaugher), exacting final justice on the source of the Star City's destruction (Prometheus), having been turned into a Black Lantern (causing him to verbally, mentally, & physically attack his wife, son, & protege Speedy), and then being turned into a White Lantern to help defeat Nekron (the source behind the Blackest Night).....a Brightest Day has dawned!  At least for others, anyway.

Sunday, April 8, 2012

Usagi Yojimbo: The Dragon Bellow Conspiracy (Review)

This volume of our favorite Rabbit Ronin; Miyamoto Usagi, was the first  long and exciting story arc of the series.  The Dragon Bellow Conspiracy includes all the intrigue, fight scenes, personal conflicts, ninja, and tragedy of a great story.....all with the atmosphere of feudal Japan.

Many characters of earlier books are in this arc....Gennosuke (Usagi's self-proclaimed Best Friend), Tomoe (Lord Noriyuki's Chief Samurai)Shingen (the ninja), & Zato-Ino (the blind swordspig)....drawn together by outside circumstances into an uneasy alliance against the treacherous Lord Tamakuro.  Will these proud and headstrong warriors resolve their differences with one another and help Usagi defeat Lord Tamakuro?

Written and drawn by Stan Sakai; who in an epic fashion resembling the Asian classic The Seven Samurai, creates a dramatic, funny, and heart-wrenching tale of the life and times of our brave and lonesome Samurai rabbit.....Usagi Yojimbo.

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

The Flash #7 (Review)

Last issue left off with Captain Cold beating down The Flash, Patty and others falling into the icy waters, & the Speedforce monitor showing critical mass......

Manapul & Buccellato continue their magnificent work in this issue, crossing boundaries into time & space, introducing new characters that will play into future events, and lest we forget....producing the best artwork of any DC Comics currently being published!  Ten years from now, we will all look back and comment on how this title changed the way artwork was done in the comic book industry.

Let's not discount the writing either.....Manapul & Booch have several threads weaving into the tapestry of The Flash, all of them have great potential...and seem to flow together effortlessly.  Let's take a look at some of them in our review of #7.....

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Saga #1 (Review)

Chapter One; written by Brian K. Vaughan with artwork by Fiona Staples, was extra long and had introductions, action, and the beginnings of a deep plot....everything a first issue should have and more.  Generally, I'm happy with a #1 if it just has introductions.....but Saga goes much further...

...We are introduced to Alana, Marko, & Hazel, the three main characters of this ongoing title.
...We are shown in explicit detail the basis of the plot for the entire series
...We get background history on both Alana's & Marko's races, and many other alien races as well, and how they all fit into the war that spans the galaxy.
    ....all of THAT in a #1 issue is amazing!

    Tuesday, March 27, 2012

    Usagi Yojimbo: The Wanderer's Road (Review)

    In this volume; The Wanderer's Road, Usagi Yojimbo finds himself in one adventure after another by chance. The greatness of this title by Stan Sakai, is that the character is constantly on the move...so is constantly going to have different events, in different places, with a multitude of characters.  It's genius really, it would far more difficult to write Usagi if he were bound to one locale.

    In this volume...he meets a new friend,  has a run-in with an old foe, spends the night with a demon, breaks a tea cup, and spends time with a woodcutter.

    Saturday, March 24, 2012

    Thief of Thieves #2 (Review)

    "They say these Things aren't Ours, We Prove them Wrong...."

    I love that quote from this issue. What this issue lacks in action, it more than makes up with emotional drama.....Spencer and Martinbrough make you feel the emotional entanglement that surrounds Redmond, Celia, & Audrey.  You see Redmond's regret as Audrey leaves, knowing he's lost her....and can't steal her back. You see his cool detachment from Celia, as though he's personified her as the "Venice Job".

    Shawn Martinbrough's art is starting to win me over, working very well in this issue, especially how he is able to capture unspoken emotion in the faces he draws....and Nick Spencer does well writing, holding to the "chapter" format that we saw wonderfully done in issue #1.....

    Wednesday, March 21, 2012

    Green Lantern #7 (Review)

    When we last left Hal Jordan, he and Carol Ferris were enjoying a "romp in the hay" when suddenly they are interrupted by Sinestro....calling Hal to duty with his ring.  Geoff Johns is weaving another Green Lantern Mega-Event....involving the various emotional-spectrum Corps, the Guardians, & a Third Army (?).

    You have to wonder how many GL "Events" Johns has planned, and when it may become too many? That said, we do have 4 Green Lantern Franchise titles coming out every month....so a one or two "Events" a year is probably a good thing to keep all the titles headed in the right direction.  It doesn't have to cover the entirety of the DC Universe, just the 4 GL titles is sufficient.  Enough speculation for now, let's move on to Issue #7's review.....

    Tuesday, March 20, 2012

    The Incredible Hulk....6 months later (Review)

    The Incredible Hulk is an Icon.  You see big & green, and all you can think of is the Hulk!  The new, on-going series written by Jason Aaron follows a wonderful run by Greg Pak that produced Planet Hulk, World War Hulk, & tie-ins with Jeph Loeb's Hulk title that included a Red Hulk, & several other gamma-induced friends & enemies from Bruce Banner's life.

    Jason Aaron had a lot of pressure to produce something good, and he has not disappointed. The Incredible Hulk thus far has been wonderful, including a mad scientist, a secret government agency, and a radioactive island filled with "Hulk-like" animals.  Marc Silvestri & Whilce Portacio have done all the artwork so far in this series.  Although some don't like their  "scratchy" art, I love it. It gives The Hulk that feel of feral rage and simplicity.  Leinil Francis Yu adds some of his work on the covers of some of the issues as well.

    For years Dr. Bruce Banner has struggled with the Beast within. But now the Beast has done something the Scientist was never able to....split the Man from the Monster.

    Sunday, March 18, 2012

    The Manhattan Projects #1 (Review)

    Imagine if The Manhattan Project was more than just an Atomic Bomb, but rather series of other, highly unusual, top-secret programs from the World's brightest minds.....and what if everything went wrong? That is the simplest description of The Manhattan Projects.

    Author Jonathan Hickman & artist Nick Pitarra bring us Hickman's newest creation, a mad-scientist look at mad-scientists like Oppenheimer, Einstein, & others. An unusual look; although not historic, at historic figures surrounded in mystery.

    Usagi Yojimbo: Samurai (Review)

    Usagi Yojimbo translates from Japanese to mean "Rabbit Bodyguard". The essence of Usagi Yojimbo, written and illustrated by Stan Sakai, is an anthropomorphic, 17th Century world. Specifically, in Japan.  Usagi is a  Ronin....which is a master-less Samurai.

    He wonders around finding himself in adventure after adventure, enjoying friends and facing enemies.  Always following the Samurai code of Honor and Duty (known in Japanese as "Bushido"), Usagi Yojimbo, and his author Stan Sakai,  have won numberous awards for it's historic cultural accuracy and it's enlightening stories.

    Wednesday, March 14, 2012

    O.M.A.C. #7 (Review)

    Wow, I'm going to miss this title!  In "Overnight, Mysterious Animals Converse", O.M.A.C. finds himself at odds with quite possibly the most powerful Superhero on the planet, Superman! Brother Eye is surprised that Maxwell Lord could garner the support of The Man of Steel, but I suspect Supes has no idea what Checkmate and Cadmus are up to in Metropolis.....only that O.M.A.C. is wrecking things on "street level".  Faced with defeat, Eye blinks O.M.A.C. away so that he can heal.

    Kevin Kho finds himself at the Toledo Zoo, unable to OMACTIVATE because of the damage caused by Superman. Eye leaves Kevin to wander around until O.M.A.C. can heal.  Kho; however, finds that he is not alone....but rather is among very strange anthropomorphic zoo animals, experiments of Warden Gaym in The Factory of Evil (hidden underground below the zoo).

    Green Arrow #7 (Review)

    New writer Annie Nocenti starts a new journey and direction for our favorite Emerald Archer in this issue. From the outset, let me say that I was immediately impressed with the fast-paced style that Nocenti is bringing to Green Arrow....it was sorely lacking in previous issues.  Also, it appears (at least in this issue) that the constant conversing with Naomi & Jax is not as prevalent (also a good thing). This issue was action-filled, and "over the top" with Ollie Queen's personality traits showing through.....a great start for Nocenti!  She managed to get away from some of the things holding back this title in previous issues, and put her mark on The Archer from the get go.

    Red Lanterns #7 (Review)

    Do you get mad and sometimes want to hit something?  Do you sometimes fill with rage as your face turns blood red and you think, "I'd like to give you a piece of my mind!" ?  Does occasionally the thought of releasing your rage on some deserving imbecile get your eye twitching with delight?  THEN RED LANTERNS IS FOR YOU!! (the previous questions were all in fun by the way, Jon Q. Citizen &/or this site does not promote or encourage violence in any manner)

    Surviving members of the Sinestro Corps; having escaped to Sector 666, feel uneasy about their futures after becoming victims of "Sinestro's Purge" (see: Green Lantern #5)....and are a finger short for it. But just as a little reassurance washes over them in this lost and remote sector, vengeance comes calling!! It is the Red Lanterns!

    "The age of Atrocitus is over. The age of Bleez has begun."

    Sunday, March 11, 2012

    The "New 52": Six Months Later (Green Lantern Review)

    One of two characters in the "New 52" that DC Comics decided not to "mess" with; along with Batman, Green Lantern has enjoyed unprecedented popularity since Geoff Johns brought back Hal Jordan from the dead in Green Lantern: Rebirth several years ago.  Since then we have enjoyed and been left jaw-dropped with The Sinestro Corps War, Blackest Night, & War of the Green Lanterns.  Johns has created several characters, & several Corps (based on the light spectrum).  The Green Lantern franchise has spin-off books Green Lantern Corps, GL: New Guardians, & Red Lanterns....it's own animated TV series, and a feature film starring Ryan Reynolds.  So...when the "New 52" began, fans of Green Lantern could just sit back and continue to read their favorite GL titles without worry. I've loved the title so far (actually going back to 2005), so....Citizen's Grade: Impressive.

    Thursday, March 8, 2012

    The "New 52": Six Months Later (The Savage Hawkman #6 Review)

    One of the new titles of the "New 52" was The Savage Hawkman. I was excited that they were bringing back the Winged Avenger with his own title! The announcement of Tony Daniel as writer and Philip Tan's "teaser" images further stoked the fires of anticipation.....however, six months into the "New 52" things are looking bad.

    Daniel & Tan are leaving in the wake of a monthly sales drop of over 50% since issue #1. On a positive note, that is still +30% over the Hawkman title of five years ago. Rob Liefeld is arriving as "story-plotter" & Joe Bennett as artist starting with issue #9, but the damage may already be done.  Free-falling sales have The Savage Hawkman hovering precariously over the "cancellation line", and because of Hawkman's convoluted history it's hard to make any Hawkman fan completely happy.....which may be the true root of TSH's sales woes.

    Book of the Month March 2012

    "Create the Future. Destroy the Past."

    With the release of the new series The Manhattan Projects this week, a great Johnathan Hickman project of a few years ago came to mind.....Pax Romana. Taking place in the far, far future & the far, far past....this book weaves history and science fiction together into a deeply plotted, morally questioning saga that spans the course of time.

    Wednesday, March 7, 2012

    The "New 52": Six Months Later (The Flash #6 Review)

    One of the most highly anticipated titles of the "New 52" was The Flash. It was also one of the most criticized prior to it's release, because of untested writers Francis Manapul & Brian Buccellato.  Issue #1 showed us right out of the gate that this title was going to be AWESOME! The artwork is the main hook for this title, both beautiful and intricate....even if there were no words, I'd still collect The Flash just for the artwork!

    Manapul and "Booch" have proven that they are not only astoundingly talented artists, but that they can write as well. The opening arc centered on Mob Rule, and was entertaining and interesting.  The beginning of the second arc featuring the"new" Captain Cold is "off the hook"!

    Sales are up from the previous Flash title, and it's been a Top 10 seller since the "New 52" began, it boasts the best artwork in DC Comics right now, and the writing is good as well, so Citizen's Grade: AWESOME!

    On to the review of issue #6.....

    Tuesday, February 14, 2012

    Thief of Thieves #1 (Review)...and a little ranting

    I've heard a lot about Robert Kirkman; star creator of The Walking Dead, though I admit I've never read anything of his before. I hadn't even heard about TofT's until a week before #1 was released.....just happened to be on Image Comics' website checking out previews for Saga & Manhattan Projects.  I've heard a lot about Nick Spencer as well, but haven't read anything of his either (he writes a lot of titles for Marvel Comics, but I haven't read any Marvel title except The Incredible Hulk since J. Michael Straczynski left Thor a few years ago).  But they are two very recognizable writers/creators, and I did enjoy the Ocean's Trilogy & love Hudson Hawk......so I gave it a try!

    This first issue is as you would expect for a brand new title with a brand new concept, it's all about introductions.

    Conan The Barbarian #1 (Review)

    I try to like Conan, I really do.....I was excited when I heard of the new Conan The Barbarian series by Dark Horse Comics, following on the heels of the Conan movie (that I enjoyed).  The announcement that Brian Wood (who wrote the acclaimed Northlanders series from Vertigo) would be writing and that Becky Cloonan would do artwork further perked my interest. Then I opened and read issue #1.......

    It's well-written, well-drawn, and entertaining. Robert E. Howard's "Queen of the Black Coast" story is one of the most-requested, highly anticipated arcs from the legacy of Conan, and it does not disappoint.  However, it just didn't "do it" for me.  I don't know why.....

    Conan The Barbarian (Film Review)

    Born on a battlefield, raised as a Cimmerian warrior, witnesses the death of his Father, & becomes a Barbarian.  A quest that begins as a personal vendetta for the fierce Conan soon turns into an epic battle against equally barbaric rivals, horrific monsters, & impossible odds! Conan soon realizes he is the only hope of saving the great nations of Hyboria from the dark Khalar Zym & his witch daughter Marique.

    The secret to victory & vengeance for Conan is the lovely Tamara, for within her blood is great mystic power to unlock the mysterious mask that Zym seeks for ultimate power and the return of his wife from the dead.  Tamara's destiny; however, is tied to a barbarian who will deliver her from this evil.....enter: Conan!!

    Wednesday, February 8, 2012

    The "New 52": Six Months Later (#6 Reviews: part one)

    It's six months later....and time to grade the "New 52", and how it's going so far.....I started the "New 52" collecting 11 titles, but have dropped a few (BM: Dark Knight, Mister Terrific & I, Vampire), one is being cancelled (O.M.A.C.), and a few have been relegated to Graphic Novel collecting (Aquaman, Green Lantern, GL Corps, GL: New Guardians, & Justice League), to save $$$ or just have in book form.  Overall, that puts me at -1, but that number will probably go up as a few of the titles are on the fence for various reasons (possible cancellation, financial concerns, or just not interested in where the title is going).  The drop is largest for me in the monthly category (-4 when O.M.A.C. ends), with Image Comics quickly filling 3 spots & Conan The Barbarian (Dark Horse Comics) the other.

    In Part One, I have #6 reviews and 6-months-later grades for Deathstroke, Green Arrow, O.M.A.C., & Red Lanterns.......I also have further thoughts about how DC Comics is doing so far at the very end of the post as well.

    Tuesday, February 7, 2012

    Book of the Month February 2012

    The Tao Speaks: Whispers of Wisdom is one of the most thought-provoking "comic-book style" books you will ever read.  Written and illustrated by Tsai Chih Chung & translated by Brian Bruya, it collects the wise writings of Lao Tzu....considered the "founder" of Taoism.

    Although I'm a Christian & not a Taoist (pronounced Dow-ist), I love reading books on other cultures and religions....and this one was fun, enlightening, and thought-provoking.  The artwork is entertaining  and illustrates fully the wisdom and simplicity of one of history's most mysterious and popular figures.

    Wednesday, February 1, 2012

    "Not-so-New 52": Issue #5 Reviews (part two)

    In our second installment following the "New 52" titles I collect on a monthly basis, we find Aquaman in the desert, The Flash thawing out prison guards, the New Guardians exploring planets within a mysterious vessel, and The Savage Hawkman dealing with the undead!

    Which was my favorite of the month?
    I'll give you a hint.......

    On to the reviews.....and nevermind the mop in the background! lol.

    Tuesday, January 31, 2012

    My Comic Book Corner

    With the idea in mind to make my Comic Book/Graphic Novel Collection aesthetically pleasing to the eyes; both  for myself and any friend or family member...whether they are into comics or not, I invested in some magazine racks for my monthly issues and displayed the Graphic Novels with various statues/action figures/etc. on the shelves.  I think it gives the two book shelves a fuller look without the clutter of a Barnes & Noble shelf, and collects my entire love of Comic Books & Characters into a smaller space (which any Wife, Girlfriend, or Mother of a Comic Fan can appreciate).

    Thursday, January 19, 2012

    "Not-so-New 52": Issue #5 Reviews (part one)

    So another month and year has passed, and here at Superhero Reviews the sad news of O.M.A.C.'s cancellation has been received.  But optimism still abounds, as we eagerly await the first issue of Conan The Barbarian (from DarkHorse Comics) which will be released in February!....and with my tightening budget, I don't actually have to choose a title to drop....DC Comics did that for me.

    This month we finally meet the mysterious Midas in Green Arrow, have an epic monster-battle royale in O.M.A.C., watch rage get smarter & perhaps learn that someone dead really isn't in Red Lanterns, and witness flying submarines in Deathstroke......on to the reviews:

    Wednesday, January 4, 2012

    Book of the Month January 2012

    Entering into 2012, I can think of no other book to recommend for a new year than Larry Gonick's Cartoon History of The Universe!  "Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it"; a quote of Irish Statesman Edmund Burke, rings true from the beginning of time until now and until humanity ceases to exist.  This book; the first in a 3 volume series, explores history from the Big Bang to Alexander The Great's conquests.....and is the most informative, most entertaining, most easy-to-learn-&-remember  history book I've ever read!! 

    Larry Gonick is a Doctor of Math from Harvard University who loved history, so read...and read....and read....and read some more, and put together volumes of history written on a middle-school/high-school level, and drawn in a way that is factual and entertaining at the same time.  With a sense of humor; and sometimes irony, Gonick has provided mankind with what may be one of it's greatest works.....rivaling Plutarch, Josephus, or any other historian that has existed down through the ages.

    Sunday, January 1, 2012

    Elephantmen: Questionable Things (Review)

    The fourth volume of the wonderfully awesome Elephantmen series, Questionable Things continues to ask questions....and does answer some as well.  In fact, just about every question that I'd asked since I began reading this series was answered in "Q.T.", including a "hint" at possibly the biggest question of them all (going way back to the ending of Elephantmen: Concrete Jungle, released several years ago), does Sahara really die?

    The impressive thing about this volume is the amount of different artists that contributed their work (especially in Issue #25, which had 26 different artists).  The amazing thing that makes it even more impressive is that they didn't lose the tone or feel of the story!  That is a very difficult thing to accomplish when you have so many artists working on the same project (I've seen books with just a couple artists lose the feel and tone  of the story).  Great job by all the artists involved in Questionable Things...and of course, to the mastermind of it all, Richard Starkings.